Tallahassee Indoor Shooting Range
Likes Likes:  12
Dislikes Dislikes:  0
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cleaning media for your brass

Sophomore

Cleaning media for your brass

So it's time for more/new media for the tumbler. I've heard several people post that they are buying media at Harbor Freight. Anybody care to chime in and tell me what they think?

I like corn media, so I can polish up the brass and make it shiny again. I need about 5lbs or so. I usually get it with a bottle of polish or case lube from the nice folks at Dillon. But if I can save a buck or two and get it locally then I'm game.

Whatcha think?

Coach.

Graduate
    Unknown, but I looked into it a while back and discovered a few things. I will admit I have no experience with any of this, so it is merely the result of my research when I was looking for cheaper alternatives.

Make sure you get the right grit. Too small and it's like sand, too big and it won't get into the case rims and such. I use 10/14, but I have reports the 14/20 is excellent. Also, I have heard not all corn cob media is equal. Some, like that ground specifically for tumbling/blasting media, is only made with the woody part of the cob, and some, like that made for pet applications, use the whole cob and is very gummy, which will clog up. Just know what you're buying.

If you work for a company that has an account with them (they don't deal with the general public), check Grainger's out by TCC. They probably won't have it in stock, but they are friendly and can order it in.

I doubt I would order from here because the price of shipping would be brutal, but there is some good information and the sizing chart at the bottom is useful:

http://www.kramerindustriesonline.com/CC.html