PDA

View Full Version : getting into reloading

sunny
December 14th, 2014, 11:12 PM
Ok so I'm planning on converting to 300 blackout because of the C/R when reloading.

My question is with the setup, primarily if I got a lee loadmaster and ran it in a single stage setup until I get well adjusted, will it be harder than starting on a single stage?

Also is the lee .300blackout die set good?

mapper
December 14th, 2014, 11:16 PM
Marcus would be the one i would ask both on conversion and press questions

I haven't started loading blackout yet...but have dies..no brass conversion tools..

...also if you edit the title of the post to the caliber it may bring more/quicker responses.. :)

marcus6176
December 14th, 2014, 11:42 PM
Sunny do you have brass conversion questions or questions a bout reloading 300 In General (which dies, press, etc)

sunny
December 14th, 2014, 11:58 PM
I plan to convert 5.56 brass to 300 using the micro saw and jig.
I just want to know if my plan of learning on a progressive press will make it more difficult. And is there a store in/around Tallahassee for reloading supplies

marcus6176
December 15th, 2014, 12:11 AM
I had to mod the hell out of my Lee press, so I could knock most of the prep work on that. After the brass has been cut I can decap, resize, and trim on my press. That's why I am getting dillon with my tax return. You will need small base dies and good lube (Imperial wax, hornady one shot spray). Make sure to sort your brass!!!! This is big deal, because foreign military brass will cause stress on your saw and dies, because it is way too thick. Kevins and DSH will have a bunch of stuff. Start with a single stage, before you goto a Progressive press. That's how I started. I have converted over 10,000 pieces already and the first 2,000 I did with a single stage press and you can ask mike he has not had a single problem with any of that brass.

Rumbler
December 15th, 2014, 09:53 AM