PDA

View Full Version : 300 BLK 245 gr MBC question

wheelman
December 14th, 2014, 07:27 AM
So I have around 250 of these left and was thinking i should load them for general purpose AR rounds around the farm. No need for subs so i am trying to get the most out of the round without asking for trouble either in the pressure or leading department.

The projectile is a 245 gr Missouri with their new hytech coating.

I am using IMR 4198.

Have nosed around more than once and have only found a couple of usable references to this combination in a supersonic load as most are looking to go the other way.

My last load was 12.7 grains giving 1280 fps and cycled ok. 11.7 gr was running around 1200 fps but would not allow the pick up of the next round so chamber would be empty. No pressure signs on any cases that I can notice but I am no expert..
Gun is the AR that JD put together for the auction.

I get the feeling that i am starting to compress at 12.7 as my bullet is seating just a snuff higher that at 11.7 and my eye tells me i am there.

My next disk setting will put me around 13.5 grains. Anyone see a problem with this load? I do not have any experience compressing loads.

I assume at some point the bullet will not seat and that is max compression/load?

The 12.7 gr was at 2.11 oal and the 11.7 gr was at just under 2 oal.

I know we have a few that play with this round. Marcus? Rumbler? others?

Rumbler
December 14th, 2014, 07:44 AM
Wheelman,

I have absolutely ZERO experience with the IMR 4198 in 300BLK. Closest I have gotten is AA 1680, and that is about four steps faster. I use that powder for the 230gr Berger Tactical (BTJHP) with excellent results.

I can see your rationale for using a slower powder with the 245gr, I just have not loaded a bullet that heavy . . . yet. Hopefully Marcus can help.

Did you check the 300BLK "load catalogue"?

http://www.300blktalk.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=141&t=81567

wheelman
December 14th, 2014, 07:53 AM