PDA

View Full Version : .223 Reloading Recommendations

Jas8340
May 24th, 2014, 06:48 PM
I just completed my first ever reloading class today with Bob today. Excellent class! Now that I feel like I have a much better understanding, I'm going to start purchasing everything I need to get a reloading bench started as I see things on sale. I'm not in a super big hurry because I just don't have the room for bench right now.

What I would like to do is start purchasing components. I've been saving my brass for the past 18 months and I have a fair amount. I need to get recommendations for a good powder(s) and primers. I'm not really looking for that super accurate load right now, just something I can cut my teeth on and go from there.

Also, something local would get awesome too!

Thanks!

Rumbler
May 24th, 2014, 07:13 PM
Bullet weight will have an influence on selecting the correct powder.

Just this week I worked on load development for a member here shooting 69gr SMKs. IMR 4895 is what he had to work with, so while certainly not my first choice we did manage to get 1/2 MOA (@200 yards) with a muzzle velocity of ~2880 FPS from his 20" barrel.

Primers. Remember that the AR has a floating firing pin. Thus the harder the primer the better. CCI makes a "NATO" primer and as surprising as it may sound WOLF makes an excellent hard primer in small rifle.

With that said . . . . I've noticed a significant dent in the primer when I loaded some test rounds using Winchester small rifle primers. I pulled the bullets, saved the powder, and threw the cases away. Slamfire is a bad thing if the bolt is unlocked when it happens. 8|

YankeeFingergasm
May 25th, 2014, 03:42 PM