PDA

View Full Version : Reloading 5.56

AB
April 20th, 2014, 08:55 AM
I'm starting to think I might want to try reloading 5.56.

I don't shoot a rifle all that much, but between reading you guys post about it, pressure from more than a few folks to start shooting 3-gun, and the C4 group, my interest is rising. What little rifle ammo I need up to now I have been happy to buy, but if I start getting serious about it, I will need more.

So, for the folks who do it, how much of a PITA is it to reload 5.56? I've been reloading handgun rounds for 25 years and used to be a frequent visitor to the Dillon store in Scottsdale, so I'm extremely experienced in the reloading process on the HG side so there's no learning curve on the basics.

Everyone's financial situation is different, but I'm trying to figure out if it is worth the time/hassle to reload it. How does it differ from handgun reloading and how much (if any) does it differ from reloading other rifle ammo? What are the cost savings?

I realize I could quietly research this on my own, but that doesn't add content and I have a legit interest in the topic.

Dale Gribble
April 20th, 2014, 09:06 AM
The biggest PITA in 5.56 is the crimped primers. I just run every case thru a de-swedger just to be sure.

Its really not any harder than handgun loading for me.

Mikec2003
April 20th, 2014, 09:47 AM
Brass prep gets tedious if you're doing a batch of 500 or so, with the trimming, primer crimp removal, chamfering, deburring. But it's not difficult by any stretch of the imagination.

I feel it's immensely worth it. I forgot the exact number, but suffice to say, i'm making match grade ammo with 77grain sierra match kings for way less than half the cost of what you'd find in stores. For general purpose shooting ammo, I can make it cheaper than you can buy it.

Long story short, if you have a press already, there's no reason you shouldn't be reloading 5.56

mapper
April 20th, 2014, 10:23 AM