PDA

View Full Version : just bought a Cheytec 308, excited but need help.

TargetShooting
October 14th, 2013, 09:42 PM
Last week bought a Cheytec 308 Safeside tactical at a local gun store. Put down 2k deposit, still waiting for gun and scope - said to be a three weeks wait even it's in stock at manufacture, that's a long, long wait, I will call Cheytec myself tomorrow to ask them to ship ASAP.This is my first rifle. I want to get into competition shooting after basic training on the gun.

Can experienced mid-long range rifle shooters give some advises on competing in this sport? Please consider that I am new to rifle shooting as of now, but I learn quickly and I have time to practice everyday at Talon.

Thanks in advance.

DaveTheTank, Tallahassee

JMW4570
October 15th, 2013, 08:29 AM
I'd suggest getting some training in precision rifle training from one of the trainers on this forum. If its your first rifle, I'd strongly recommend it. Jim

TargetShooting
October 15th, 2013, 07:21 PM
I'd suggest getting some training in precision rifle training from one of the trainers on this forum. If its your first rifle, I'd strongly recommend it. Jim

Thanks!

TargetShooting
October 15th, 2013, 11:01 PM
What kinda optic are you gonna out on it?

Haven't seen it, it's a Nikon. The local store is setting up everything for me including bipod and trainer.

Rumbler
October 16th, 2013, 07:21 AM
I am curious. What kind of rifle can you use as a trainer for this?

I have a Savage heavy barrel MKII in 22LR set up very nearly identical to my Remmy 700p in .308. It is great for the job with the correct ammo. But what the heck else mimics this new rifle of yours closely?

BlueBronco
October 16th, 2013, 11:15 AM
I am curious. What kind of rifle can you use as a trainer for this?

I have a Savage heavy barrel MKII in 22LR set up very nearly identical to my Remmy 700p in .308. It is great for the job with the correct ammo. But what the heck else mimics this new rifle of yours closely?