PDA

View Full Version : Do I Really need a reload manual?

mapper
April 4th, 2017, 11:24 AM
I saw this on another forum :eek:

I searched around a bit and didn't see this topic already on this forum and saw it answered inadequately on another forum so I thought I'd try here

I'm new to reloading but my aim is two fold

1) to save money on my rounds and not break the bank shooting 100 rounds of actual hunting ammo through my hunting rifle for practice.

2) to practice with what I hunt with. As stated above, if I am paying $2+ per round for factory ammo hunting rounds I want, I can't waste a bunch at the range.

I only have the desire to reload 30.06 rounds (I'm a simple guy) and so I bought a Lee Loader Classic in 30.06, brass (some fire formed to my rifle some new), large rifle primers, and Nosler ballistic tip and Accubond bullets. I also picked up a Digital Caliper, steel wool for cleaning the brass, and eventually will pick up a Lee Case trimmer when my current brass stretches outside of spec.

Using info online, I've discovered the specific overall cartridge length needed for my rifle to keep the bullet about .015" off the lands and know my brass length ranges for 30.06

I can't afford either financially or time-wise a new hobby, so I have no desire to develop custom loads, learn the math, or become a reloading guru, I just want to follow the recipe. Nosler bullets as I'm sure you know come with several recommendations of powder types and loads for the specific bullets you buy.

All that being said, if all I want to do is "follow the recipe" as it were and save some money, using the Nosler recommended powder and load, why do I need a reloading manual? It seems to me like the simplicity that I am seeking does not require one with only a single caliber and no desire for experimentation, but I know very little about this. Please help a new guy out with your wisdom!

I understand that folks get into reloading for various reasons.